Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
aw-sysadmin
New Contributor II

LDAPS issue, 'Can't contact LDAP server'

I am trying to enable LDAPS on our Fortigate 60F. We currently have LDAP to a DC working, but when I enable LDAPS over port 636 and click 'Test Connectivity' I get the error message 'Can't contact LDAP server'. This is before selecting a certificate.

I have imported a certificate from the Microsoft Intermediate CA in our domain, tried binding that to the setting but get the same error. I ran a packet sniffer to confirm the Fortigate is sending and receiving traffic to the DC over port 636.

I also ran ldp.exe to the DC over port 636 and the connection was successful.

What else could cause the error message? Any advice would be helpful as I am new to Fortigate administration, thank you.

16 REPLIES 16
dbhavsar
Staff
Staff

Hi @aw-sysadmin ,

- Also make sure your windows defender is turned off or if you have turned it on make sure you have allowed rule for that port.

DNB
aw-sysadmin

I have added inbound rules on Windows Defender Firewall on the DC for ports 389, 636, and 3269. I also ran the packet sniffer from the Fortigate and traffic was sent and received from the DC over port 636

akanibek
Staff
Staff

Could you make a packet capture with some debugs on FGT enabled, and compare outputs. Which device does terminate connection? Maybe you could see some errors from debugs:

1. packet capture between FGT and DC.

2. debugs:

diag de reset

diag de app fnbamd -1

diag de console time enable

diag de enable

***To stop debugging:

diag de disable

3. Reproduce the issue several times, compare outputs. you can share outputs in the forum as well.

Asset
pminarik
Staff
Staff

The typical low-hanging-fruit explanations of LDAPS not working (but plain LDAP being fine) are: